5 Languages of Love: Why Affection & Quality Time are so Important.

I recently stumbled across a book I have had in my collection for quite some time now: Gary Chapman’s, The Five Love Languages.

In his book, Mr. Chapman breaks down how most people feel, identify, and relate to love. He was able to break these into five main categories. He assesses that if we identify our primary love language and that of our partner, that we may learn to better communicate our love and affection in the manner the person desires for a more meaningful relationship.

“Love is a universal way humans speak to one another. From a very early age, we show and receive love from the people in our lives. The love we receive (or lack thereof) and how it is expressed helps to shape us into the people we become as adults. Individuals that grow up without love and security typically grow up to have serious mental health, behavioral, interpersonal, and/or personality issues later in life. Love, truly is one of the most important aspects of a healthy, happy, life.

Although we know love is critical, we don’t always know how to express it. Further, we don’t always know how to express it in a way that the person receiving it, knows that our intentions stem from a place of love. Some of the conflict with this too is due to the fact that we, ourselves, don’t always know what makes us feel most loved and/or how others can show us love. Expressing and receiving love is another form of communication in itself. We all respond to different forms of communication differently. What works for some, may not work for others. Thankfully, Dr. Gary Chapman has developed The Five Love Languages an easy way to breakdown how we each can communicate love to one another in a language that the receiver can understand.” ~ Nina Shadi

I would say, we’ve all had at least one relationship (or possibly several) where we felt we just didn’t “speak the same language” as our partners. Somehow, despite all the best intentions, our messages crossed or never seemed to land on understanding. Misunderstandings, miscommunication, and hurt feelings built up until the relationship was forced to end, not because of a lack of love, but because we and/or our partners were not feeling loved.

To Continue Reading, Please Click Here…

Author: Mary Rogers

Editor: Cat Beekmans

Please Note: You may view a different version of this article on House of Citrine by clicking here…

No Comments

Post A Comment